Target + Neiman Marcus

Though past collaborations between high-end designers and Target have taught me to keep my expectations fairly low, I am interested to see how this one plays out: Target and Neiman Marcus have tapped 24 fancy designers like Tory Burch, Marc Jacobs and Carolina Herrera to create 50 gift items for the holidays. All items will be sold at Target, Neiman Marcus and online starting Dec. 1.

I’m encouraged by:

>> Higher prices, which hopefully means the quality will be better. We’ve all been burned by these collabs when we see the $24.99 blouse in person and become fairly certain that it will dissolve in water.

>> Each label contributed just two or three items, which means the designers didn’t have to stretch to come up with a broad capsule collection that would likely have some poorly executed fillers.

>> Neiman Marcus throwing its good name and coveted sales floor into the deal.

Target’s stores and web site are notoriously overloaded on the day that a designer collection debuts, but many times these lines fly under the radar at my Target. So, there’s a good chance that I’ll nab a few things. Here’s what I’ve got my eye on:

For me: Lela Rose dress, $99.99

For my sister-in-law: Marc Jacobs pouch, $69.99

For a holiday party hostess: Tracy Reese dessert plates, $39.99

For a cocktailing couple: Altuzarra glasses, shaker and tray ($49.99-$79.99)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

