City love

Today I woke up thinking of San Francisco, a city that feels like home even though I’ve never lived there.

I miss my friend David’s house, where his door (and the teeny front gate) is always open:

David’s neighborhood is fantastic, home to all kinds of buzzy spots like Delfina pizzeria, Bi-Rite Creamery, Bi-Rite Market and Tartine. When I stay with friends, it makes me feel like a local when I go to these places. But I was probably busted last time when I pulled out my camera to take a photo of my latte. Tourist!

All the cool new coffee places in SF are doing slow pour, or pour over, whatever you want to call it: basically, it means it takes 10 times longer than what is reasonable to get a cup of coffee. I would call myself curious, but not appreciative, of the pour over style. Four Barrel is where I did some research:

On the walk back, I took the long way so that I could stop at the top of Dolores Park, one of my favorite spots in the city:

But if I could fly to San Francisco today, just for the day, I’d call my friends and have them meet me at the Ferry Building, a food dream palace and my all-time favorite spot in the city:

It holds such treasures as the Cowgirl Creamery shop:

These cheese mongers will let you sample whatever you want and don’t judge you if you know as much about cheese as you do, say, molecular biology. When you find something you like, they’ll package up slivers for you to bring home to your friends.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

